Video Call for Papers

My composition for this assignment is intended to be viewed at Youtube, as it will reach a wider audience than my blog for this class. If you would like to see it as it intended, you can click the video embedded in this post and go directly to the video location. There you will also have the option to view it in full screen mode by clicking a small rectangle in the bottom right corner.

Considering the nature of Youtube, I chose to keep the information within the video minimal, opting to provide additional information in the “more” drop down at the side of the video. I kept that information minimal as well.  My link in the “more” drop down opens the “Submissions” page of Kairos.  This was done because I think that it will clarify the nature of the submissions and provide those who may be interested with an overview of Karios’ unique approach to digital scholarship.  When the (Re)mediating proposal is posted in its final draft, I will change the link to take viewers to that post. Since the intended audience most likely to respond, is potentially savvy at navigating websites, I assume they will understand how to find the home page and further explore the website. Because I am sensitive to copyright issues, I used a audio clip from CCmixter.org, a Creative Commons resource. I added an attribution to the musician, Neurowaxx, and the terms of the CC license.

I chose to make the viewing area of the video smaller than the default for Youtube to avoid heavy pixelation and loss of clarity. This allows viewers to watch it small or large. I have frequently discovered terrific videos that I wanted to view full screen, that were a total disaster enlarged. The enlarged version of my video does pixilate a bit, but I think it is still clear enough to communicate the message.

What’s with the Scrabble board? Well, I wanted to make something unique, pique the interest of viewers, and mix entertainment with the message. Another assumption I have made about my audience: they are likely to be (for lack of a better word) nerds who might find trying to mentally unscramble the words fun.

Why is it so fast? I did my best to strike a balance between how quickly viewers in the digital age lose interest and how quickly the information is presented. This was the most challenging aspect of the assignment. I read quickly and I have read the message so many times that I can probably recite it scrambled and unscrambled. To offset this potential issue, I used my husband as a gauge; he has profound dyslexia and reads rather slowly.

Other things that went through my head while developing the concept (in no particular order)…

My friends and I used to read our finished Scrabble game-boards like a story. Interacting with a Scrabble board is satisfying and I wished that I could have had a design that allowed readers to digitally do so–with some sort of cue that let them know when everything was in order.

Less can be more–I tried to pull the words that jumped out at me the most relating to the Call for Papers/Kairos website; I then reduced the message within the video to those simple cues. I wanted readers to have questions…isn’t asking and finding the answers what it’s all about, after all?

I chose my music *before* I shot the video. I had an idea of what the video would be when I searched for the music, but I let the music set the pace for the video. I wanted it to be upbeat–a tune to get caught in your head–to make you think about the video and its message after you you left the video behind, after you read the Kairos information.

I opened Flash, longing to make magic…and then remembered I cuss a lot when I use Flash and it’s been awhile. I also went “low tech” (or seemingly so) to keep the message accessible to people who may have the preconceived idea that slick, sexy digital composition is the end-all-be-all of  expression. Sometimes the rough edges make a statement feel more approachable. And finally…I need someone to play Scrabble with. Anyone? Scrabble night?

Go on then…view it. I dare you to unscramble the words before my hands do!

Published in: on February 18, 2009 at 3:52 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://delvana.wordpress.com/2009/02/18/video-call-for-papers/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a comment